2013 AGU Awards

2013 Union Fellows

To be elected a Union Fellow is a special tribute for those who have made exceptional scientific contributions.  Nominated Fellows must have attained acknowledged eminence in the Earth and space sciences.  Primary criteria for evaluation in scientific eminence are: (1) major breakthrough, (2) major discovery, (3) paradigm shift, and/or (4) sustained impact.  This designation is conferred upon not more than 0.1% of all AGU members in any given year. New Fellows are chosen by a Committee of Fellows.

  • Gordon Bonan, CGD Senior Scientist, 2013 AGU Fellow
  • Warren Washington, CGD Senior Scientist, 2013 AGU Fellow

Communication Prize

The Climate Prize highlights the importance of promoting scientific literacy, clarity of message, and efforts to foster respected and understanding of science-based values as they relate to the implications of climate change. The Climate Communication Prize is for communication of climate science – not scientific research.

  • Kevin Trenberth, CGD Distinguished Scientist, 2013 Climate Communication Prize


slideshow image: 
Short title: 
Kevin Trenberth, Gordon Bonan, Warren Washington